Leave a comment

Training – Nov-Dec, 2015

12-2-2015:  Wonderful class last night, Thor did great and I had pretty decent handling except in one area where I had a terrible time getting a front cross in. He ran by the teeter the first time but I brought him back and he did it plus he had no problems the next two runs. Next trial is December 12th so we have one more training session.

He is just so much fun to run with, love this boy.

11-23-2015: Not much training this week as I am getting ready for Thanksgiving at my house, last count was close to 17-18 people with some dropping by later. Decent temps expected (50’s) but with lots of rain so the kids won’t be able to play outside.  At least my Brother-in-Law won’t freeze, we have two turkeys, one baked and one deep-fried outside. It will be interesting to see if Thor is more comfortable than he was last year.  He was better last year than the year before though.  I can’t believe he will be three the middle of January!

11-19-2015:  Last nights agility class was a lot of fun.  I brought my two older dogs, one is retired from trialing and one will be retired at the end of this year.  It was so much fun running with them and they loved getting out there just for the fun of it.

Got reminded again with Thor I have to support/treat him after every 3-4 obstacles so I can keep his focus.  He does work much better for me that way.  He did scare me though when doing the teeter on our last run, he slipped and almost fell off.  His fault as he was watching what was going on in the front of the building so didn’t pay attention to his footing. With all the issues we have with teeters at a trial, I really hated to see that happen.

11-18-2015:  We rented a facility last night for training, closer than what we normally drive for class.  It is the same place that Thor stopped doing the teeter, so I expected him to be much more nervous than he was.  Of course he did the teeter without any issues except one time.  I believe that was because of the angle of the approach not as much as him not doing it.  When I had him redo it he did it without a pause.  I am not sure if that helped for trails or not, we will have to see.

 

Leave a comment