Leave a comment

Western Waukesha Dog Club Agility Trial – Oct. 23, 2015 & Dana Pike Seminar – Oct. 24, 2015

Didn’t go as well as I had hoped at the trial, Thor was extremely nervous and distracted.  Really thought he might do well as it was a small trial so not a lot of people or noise.  No teeter again, wish I could catch his collar and make him do it but haven’t been able to yet.  I will catch it someday and he will realize that it is not something he can do at a trial if he wants too.  If it was just scared of the teeter I could work with him on that but he is not afraid of the teeter just refuses to do it at a trial.  Plan on doing a run-thru at this facility in November, wish they had it earlier in the month so I could work with him before our next trial.

Dana Pike is great, I learned a lot at her seminar.  I realized that Thor and I need to go back to foundations again to proof some of his behaviors. I also need to work him more in distracting environments, even though this is were we train he was very nervous.  I wasn’t at my best either, felt a bit sorry for myself.  I need to control those feelings so I don’t project negative vibes to Thor, he needs confidence and my negative feelings don’t help. He is such a good dog just need to keep working with him.

We have a break this weekend which will be nice for both of us.  The following week is a 3-day trail at the same place we were just at, hope he is not as nervous as he was this past weekend.  The following weekend is two days, a break for a week then Thanksgiving weekend we are only doing Friday.  Haven’t totally decided what I want to do in December or January just yet maybe some CPE in January or February since they have day of show entries.

Leave a comment